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Current regulations?
S

0 Are they protective for Vermonters?

o TCE PEL: 54,000 ug/m3
0 TCE NASL: 0.7 ug/m’

0 Health effect: fetal cardiac malformation,
developmental immunotoxicity, increased thyroid
weight

Vermont Department of Health



Programs at the Health Department with

S
chemical reporting requirements

0 Groundwater chemistry database

0 Chemical Disclosure Program for Children’s Products
0 Asbestos

0 Lead

0 Nuclear Medicine

Vermont Department of Health



Groundwater Chemistry Database
S

0 Act 163- 18 V.S.A. § 501b. "A laboratory
certified to conduct testing of water supplies from a

potable water supply, as that term is defined in 10
V.S.A. 8§ 1972(6), shall submit the results of
groundwater analyses to the department of health
and the agency of natural resources in a format
required by the department of health.”

0 Approved May 17, 2012
0 Took effect January 1, 2013

Vermont Department of Health



Groundwater Chemistry Database
S

0 All groundwater chemistry data
O Naturally occurring chemicals
0 Manmade chemicals

O Unregulated chemicals (although these are probably
not being tested for)

0 Collected from certified drinking water labs
o0 No fee to report

0 Data historically sent as PDF; transitioning to .csv
files to be kept in an in-house database

O Rhapsody route to insert data into SQL Server

Vermont Department of Health



Groundwater Chemistry Database
S

0 74 fields collected — only 5 are required to be
accepted by the database

0 [document]

0 Database will be accessible to Health and DEC.
Data can be shared with public upon request.

0 No specific requirements for record keeping.

Vermont Department of Health



Groundwater Chemistry Database
]

?

Vermont Department of Health



Chemical Disclosure Program for Children’s Products
S I ——

0 Act 188- 18 V.S.A. 38A § § 1771 -1779

0 Passed in 2014; reporting required as of January
1, 2017.

0 Manufacturers must disclose

0 Name on the product = manufacturer. Can be retailer
if the retailer’s name is on the product.

0 Children’s products
O Marketed for use by child (under 12)

0 Next

Vermont Department of Health



Chemical Disclosure Program for Children’s Products
S —

0 Exem pﬁOhS: batteries, snow sporting equipment, inaccessible components,

pesticides, drugs, unting /fishing equipment, electronic products

0 Data collected before product is sold in VT

o0 Contentious point

0 Currently 66 Chemicals of High Concern to Children
O More chemicals added by rulemaking

0 Threshold for reporting

O Intentionally added chemicals: practical quantitation level

(PQL)

O Chemicals present as contaminants: 100 ppm

Vermont Department of Health



Chemical Disclosure Program for Children’s Products
S I ——

0 Information disclosed:
0 Chemical (CAS)
0 Description of product (GPC brick)
0 Function of chemical
O Component where chemical is present
o0 Concentration of chemical in the component (ranges)

O Manufacturer Name, address, telephone number

0 UPC or brand name and product model

Vermont Department of Health



Chemical Disclosure Program for Children’s Products
S —

0 Fees: Only WA, OR have similar programs

o CA, ME have reporting requirements structured differently
0 No fee in WA; $250 per chemical in OR

0 Vermont: $200 per chemical, every two years

0 Data is submitted through online system

O Through Secretary of State website

0 Data is provided to the public on Health Department’s
website

Vermont Department of Health



Chemical Disclosure Program for Children’s Products
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Asbestos
I e

0 18 V.S.A. 26; Vermont Regulations for Asbestos
Control [VRAC], Sections 7 and @

0 Asbestos abatement contractors remove and
dispose asbestos waste for property owners

0 Applies to: 1% asbestos-containing materials by

weight

Vermont Department of Health



Asbestos
I e

0 Who?: A Vermont-licensed asbestos abatement
contractor entity shall notify the Health Department
10 working days prior to starting work (18 V.S.A.

26 § 1333) or, in an emergency, no later than 48
hours after work (VRAC 9.1.2) in a format required
by the Department of Health AND a Vermont-
licensed asbestos consulting entity shall submit visual
and air clearance documentation to the Health
Department within 30 days of the completion of the
work

Vermont Department of Health



Asbestos
I e

0 To report: Submit required notice for demolition or
renovation activities (electronic or paper); OR
submit Asbestos Abatement Project Permit
Application Form (paper)

0 Funding: Asbestos Certification fees: $100,393;
Asbestos Project Permit fees: $37,525 - for
calendar year 2016

Vermont Department of Health



Asbestos
I e

0 Record keeping: Program-maintained database,
electronic files, and paper files; contractor entity
required to maintain records of all regulated

activity; program records are accessed upon
request

Vermont Department of Health
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Lead
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0 18 V.S.A. 38; Vermont Regulations for Lead Control
[VRLC], Section 5

0 Lead-based paint abatement contractors remove
and dispose lead-based paint waste for property
owners

0 Applies to: Paint or other surface coatings that

contain lead in excess of limits established under

Section 302© of the Federal Lead-Based Paint
Poisoning Prevention Act (currently 1.0mg/cm2 or

0.5% by weight)

Vermont Department of Health



Lead
T e

0 Who?: A Vermont-licensed lead abatement
contractor entity shall notify the Health Department
10 working days prior to starting work (VRLC
Section 5.1(b)) AND must submit documentation of
appropriate waste disposal within 60 days (VRLC
5.5(f)); OR The owner of pre-1978 residential
rental housing unit or child care facility shall submit
an annual Essential Maintenance Practices
Compliance Statement to the Health Department by

the due date (18 V.S.A. 38 § 1759.b, 18 V.S.A. 38
§ 1759.¢)

Vermont Department of Health



Lead

0 To report: Submit Lead Abatement Project Permit
Application Form (paper) AND waste disposal
documentation (electronic or paper); OR submit
Essential Maintenance Practices Compliance
Statement (website or paper)

0 Funding: EPA lead certification grant: $121,248 ;
Lead Certification fees: $35,381; Lead Project
Permit fees: $3,475 - for calendar year 2016

Vermont Department of Health



Lead
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0 Record Keeping: Program-maintained database,
electronic files, and paper files; contractor entity
and property owners required to maintain records
of all regulated activity; program records for lead
abatement are accessed upon request; program
records for Essential Maintenance Practices
compliance are accessed via website (website
filings) or upon request (paper filings)

Vermont Department of Health
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Nuclear Medicine
I S

0 Currently, chemical sources of radiation, what is called nuclear
medicine, is under the jurisdiction of the Nuclear Regulatory
Commission. When we become an Agreement State, we will
have that authority. Radiochemicals are well-tracked. They
have to be ordered by people with a license from vendors that
have a license, and they have to be stored, used and disposed
of in accordance with regulations and specific license
conditions. All of these licensing actions are currently with the
NRC. Our goal is to take over this jurisdiction with an
Agreement in place by October 1, 2018.

Vermont Department of Health
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